Bug 1074139

Summary: Using YaST to configure hardware sound looses information
Product: [openSUSE] openSUSE Tumbleweed Reporter: Freek de Kruijf <freek>
Component: YaST2Assignee: YaST community YaST community <yast-community>
Status: RESOLVED WONTFIX QA Contact: Jiri Srain <jsrain>
Severity: Normal    
Priority: P4 - Low CC: jreidinger, lslezak
Version: Current   
Target Milestone: ---   
Hardware: Other   
OS: Other   
Whiteboard:
Found By: --- Services Priority:
Business Priority: Blocker: ---
Marketing QA Status: --- IT Deployment: ---
Attachments: y2log from just before deleting the configuration of the HDMI sound device till ending the second session of the Sound module

Description Freek de Kruijf 2017-12-27 14:03:31 UTC
Using YaST->hardware->Sound I configure one of the two sound devices:
RV770 HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 4850/4870]
First I delete the configuration, then I Edit the configuration and use the default Fast automatic configuration. I use Other and Volume to set/check the volume settings, which is quite a busy window with sliders. OK to exit.
Start the Sound module in YaST again. Select the above device. In Other select Volume, which does not show the busy window anymore. Only at the top Master volume and a Test button.
I assume this is a bug, not showing the sliders to set values.
Comment 1 Freek de Kruijf 2017-12-27 14:10:59 UTC
Created attachment 754325 [details]
y2log from just before deleting the configuration of the HDMI sound device till ending the second session of the Sound module
Comment 2 Josef Reidinger 2017-12-28 11:37:02 UTC
lada can you check it?
Comment 3 Ladislav Slezák 2018-03-02 14:20:00 UTC
The volume setup in YaST is limited, it's designed for the basic setup and to verify that the sound works.

The desktop configuration or the desktop applets should be preferred for fine tuning the volume settings.
Comment 4 Freek de Kruijf 2021-04-15 10:39:02 UTC
Closed